Skip to content

Short Shorts

August 9, 2010

My current project (after a little too much procrastination) is a pair of ivory 100% linen pleated and cuffed short shorts using Simplicity 3849 (a juniors pattern for the more modern fit that I prefer).  These are going to double as an entry for the wardrobe contest and for the Natural Fabrics Contest for the PR runway show at the American Sewing Expo.

I’m still hoping to finish the wardrobe, although it may be wishful thinking at this point!  At least I have quite a few of the pieces cut out :)  I’ve changed a few things around to make it simpler also.  I’m substituting a pink bias linen skirt for the walking shorts, and changed the Cynthia Rowley top because it sadly didn’t quite fit in.  The whole collection is going to be much more ivory and pink now than I originally planned.  But it might just coordinate better this way!

I also am planning a couple other projects which might be after the wardrobe contest, but could just wipe it out altogether.  First, I will be selling some aprons at a fair in mid-September with sewing group, and have to finish at least 4.  Also, a friend of mine requested a pair of pajama pants from some cute fabric she found.  And I’m making a diaper bag for my sister-in-law who is due in mid-September!  In other words, let’s see how stressed I can possibly get after work🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Helen permalink
    August 11, 2010 6:07 am

    The shorts look great! I love them. I hope you do have time to make the other garments you’re aiming for. Your sewing always looks beautiful. Very inspirational. I know how stressful it can be though – I would like to make heaps more things but when you work, it’s hard to find time for everything! Good luck with all your projects.

  2. August 13, 2010 1:38 pm

    Those shorts are super cute!!! Everything about them, from proportion to fabric to executiion. Beautiful work.

Leave a Reply

