Skip to content

Another Dress & a Question for you

July 30, 2010

I began my dress for the wardrobe contest last night.  It’s fairly similar to my burdastyle dress in the construction (but not the design), so it should come together easily.  Also, its not lined which will help quite a bit.  I’m hoping to finish before a wedding on Saturday evening (quick work!).  I’m using burda 3/09 #121, the “Exclusive Design” from the issue.  It’s so gorgeous in the mag, but my version will look very different because of the fabric (a printed linen blend).  Much more fun than formal, more like a sundress.  I’m excited about it.  I’m also using the pleated waistband from burda 9/08 #132.

The other thing I’m working on is renaming my blog.  The best one I’ve come up with so far is “Versatility”.  The concept being that I enjoy making pieces that can be worn for many occasions, dressed up or down, etc.  This is one of my goals when sewing garments for myself (because I want to get some use out of them!).  The name could also be parlayed into the name of a line down the road (if I ever get there).  The one thing that could be very confusing is that my style in general might not necessarily be considered incredibly versatile (as far as the types of pieces I make).  I’m still thinking about it, but do you have an opinion?  Do I need a name that’s more descriptive of my style rather than my “goal”?  How do other people name their blogs, lines, etc?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Helen permalink
    July 30, 2010 6:38 pm

    I like it! But can you maybe add a word that lets people know it’s about sewing – maybe, Versatility Designs (or something a bit more imaginative than “Designs” – I’m not too creative!!). I think you’re very creative and whatever name you choose, it will say exactly what you want to express. And I LOVE your haircut (and your dog).

  2. elily00 permalink*
    July 30, 2010 8:16 pm

    Thanks! Good feedback 🙂 Something else to think about for sure… Oh this is so hard for me too 🙂 I’m really bad with names and anything related to creative writing… I really don’t do well with this type of thing at all- it’s very stressful, so I appreciate your feedback!

  3. Helen permalink
    August 1, 2010 1:26 am

    Hello again. Just have fun trying to think of a new name – the name will probably come to you when you least expect it – when you’re not trying to think of it! I just clicked on the Burda dress pattern you’re making for the wedding – that is an absolutely gorgeous design! Post your pics as soon as you can! I can’t wait to see it – you’re going to look stunning (I hope the bride’s not jealous!!)

Leave a Reply

