Skip to content

My Other News

June 30, 2010

The project that I couldn’t discuss before has been announced (finally!).  So, here it is: I’m going to be part of the first BurdaStyle Book!

The idea, as they explain, is that they introduce 5 new patterns, and show how to make a couple variations of each pattern.  Then they show some other people’s variations of each pattern for inspiration.  I think it’s absolutely brilliant, and of course true to the BS mission.  I get to be one of the “inspiration” contributors!

So, what does this entail exactly?  Well, they sent each of us (the contributors) a line drawing of two different patterns.  For me, they sent me the dress and the skirt from the book.  We were supposed to sketch 2 different ideas for each pattern, and take a picture of a fabric we would like to make it in.  They took all of our design ideas and decided on one per contributor.  I get to do a dress variation (my favorite of course)!   Those lucky people at BS got to do all the fabric shopping for every design (how jealous am I?).  I just now received the actual pattern, and the fabric they’ve chosen is on its way.  I still don’t know what fabric they picked for me, and I think that’s the part I’ve been anticipating the most!  At the end of July I’ll be sending the finished product in for professional pictures that I absolutely can not wait to see!

If I could, I would share with you all of my ideas, but I don’t believe I’m allowed to do that :(  I of course can’t share the original designs or my final design, since those will be in the book (and what’s exciting news without some anticipation?  Am I right?  I’m hoping I’ll be able to take a picture of the fabric when it arrives at least!

The book comes out in Fall 2011.  Maybe I’ll make up one of my other design ideas in the meantime… if that’s not against the rules🙂

Can you tell how excited I am?

Happy Fourth!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2010 4:11 am

    Wow, congratulations! I was wondering who are making the dresses. I was sent the dress- and coat-pattern so I know what it looks like😉.
    And also, congratulations on the other book-project! I totally understand they want to include your wallet, it’s beautiful!

  2. July 1, 2010 11:50 pm

    Congratultions!! That’s so exciting!

  3. Helen permalink
    July 9, 2010 2:45 pm

    Congratulations! You must be so excited. Can’t wait to see your finished project. Your sewing is always beautiful.

  4. July 24, 2010 3:03 pm

    Hmmm i just finished my dress variation today; free to browse the net now and hence wanted to know who are all the lucky fellow designers for the burdastyle book project. This project gaveme an opportunity to learn new techniques and work towards perfection for techniques which i knew already but too lazy to perfect. This book project and the hours or should i say days spent on it will stay in my sewing memoirs in bold italics…

    Am also glad i have come to know of more blogs and people behind it … Congrats to you and hope to see your creation in the book.

Trackbacks

  1. Next coat « Cutting Edge Stitches & Seams

Leave a Reply

