Skip to content

Reflections

December 19, 2009

If you voted in the wardrobe contest, thank you so much!  The first place winner truly deserved the win- she did such an amazing job of coordinating everything.  I was so happy and flattered just to get some votes!

I stumbled upon an amazing wiki that Burdastyle member gedwoods is working on.  It’s a big list of online fabric stores and free patterns!   Check it out!

Ir’s time to reflect on this year and try to make some resolutions for next year!  This year has really flown by, but I mostly accomplished my sewing goals.

1. Trying pants. I did what I set out to do (mostly).  I still need that pair of skinny jeans, but I did make some trouser-style jeans since I needed them for work.  I’m very happy with them, and mostly happy with the khakis I made.

2. Making a mini-wardrobe.  I think I did a bit more than I was expecting by participating in the contest, but I’m so glad I was able to finish!  I did end up with plenty of coordinating pieces, now I have a couple things to finish up so they can be worn!

3. Expanding my skills.  I definitely accomplished this.  I made a suit, 2 pairs of pants, a jacket that I can’t wait to wear when it gets warm, plenty of tops, I tried my hand at some drafting, and even took a draping class!  Wow, it didn’t feel like I did so much sewing this year until that contest, but I guess so!  I also got a dressform to help me fit.  The winter coat I’ve been wanting is my next big project, coming after Christmas.

For next year…

1. My very own winter coat. Lined, interlined, the works. I’m currently figuring out exactly what design I would like, and trying to find patterns to work from. Maybe some ruffles? Maybe just a clean tailored look? I can’t decide, but it needs to fit well!

2. Master pants. I plan to make a pair of skinny jeans (because I can’t find any that fit well!), a pair using Jalie 2908 and 1 or 2 good trousers.  I want so badly to perfect the shape of the thigh area and the fit of the crotch. I also want to master jeans details… I aspire to be as good as this (how amazing is she! I totally envy her wardrobe).

3. Build my everyday wardrobe. I need tops, especially the kind I can wear to work. In winter all I wear is turtlenecks, and I need to find some interesting ways to do them. It’s so boring, but when you have to walk around a freezing warehouse all day, there’s not much choice. I really want to find an amazing silk jersey and make a top out of it this year.

4. This may be toward the end of the year, but I’m thinking I might try to learn how to make a tailored jacket. It’s still a maybe, but would be a fantastic experience.

Anyone else out there care to share their resolutions?  I would love to hear!

I decided to only make a couple small Christmas gifts this year, not that I had much choice :)  A friend actually wanted to pay me for a wallet!  How sweet :)  So I’m working on those at the moment and will post them later.

Merry Christmas everybody!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2010 11:24 am

    First, Happy New Year!

    Well, my main resolution is to clear out my closet and only keep the things that I actually wear. If I manage to do that, perhaps my rersolution for 2011 will be to start a similar project as you did with your coordinated wardrobe.🙂

  2. Helen permalink
    May 15, 2010 4:50 pm

    Hi Liz, Just wondering what’s happened to your blog. I really, really miss it. You are an amazing seamstress, your sewing room is beautiful and well set out and I LOVE your dogs! Don’t know whether you have stopped blogging or whether my computer has gone whacky and when I call up my favourites, I am stuck at this November blog (that happened to another blog I was following). I would love to know what’s happening in your sewing! I have “sewer’s block” at the moment – not good!!

Leave a Reply

