Skip to content

Draping Fun

September 17, 2009

I took a draping class last weekend that I absolutely LOVED!  It’s so interesting to learn a new method!  Now I need a dress form…  Anyway, we learned how to make a sloper by draping, then we got to play around for about 45 minutes.  Here is what I came up with :)  I’m hoping to some day sew this up in a good fabric.

I also finished a shirt a couple weeks ago.  It gave me some trouble.  After I pressed the pleats at the top, they got all stretched out, and I had to cut off about an inch of the neckline because of it.  Oh well, it’s not perfect, but it is wearable :)  It’s also a bit short, which I wasn’t expecting.  It’s something I always need to check for because of my long waist, and I just didn’t do it this time. (sorry for the pictures… the dressform bust is quite a bit larger than mine)

We’re going to Nashville for the weekend and I’m very excited, even though it’s supposed to rain the whole time (and it’s supposed to be gorgeous here…).  It will be good to get away!

As a side note, I can’t wait for Bones to start back up this week!  I think it’s one of my new favorite shows :)  Is anyone else excited?  Ha!  Oh yeah, and The Office, which I have loved since the beginning!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. chimpsgomoo permalink
    September 17, 2009 9:42 pm

    A draping class sounds like so much fun. I love what you came up with! I’ve never seen Bones, but I love the Office. Unfortunately, I don’t have television any longer and have to catch things online, so I missed all of last season.

    Anyways, your garments look fab!

  2. September 19, 2009 8:55 am

    I am glad you enjoyed the class. I like what you came up with also. Hope to see that finished in the future. I like your top as well. Neat fabric.

  3. October 2, 2009 9:39 pm

    I would love to take a draping class. There are none taught near where I live, but I did buy a book on draping recently. I haven’t watched bones, but my two TV addictions are “House” and “NCIS”

  4. October 17, 2009 10:49 pm

    I love Bones! But what is she doing with his boss? This is not how I think it should be going!🙂

  5. October 21, 2009 12:07 am

    The Office is my absolute favorite show right now, did you see the wedding? Best episode ever, I laughed and cried, it was great!

    Bones is also one of my faves, I love the relationship that Bones and Booth have, I just wish they would get together already.

    I love your blog, I am brand new to sewing dont even have a sewing machine, yet. You are really talented. Thanks for sharing all your great tips.

  6. BAHAR permalink
    December 13, 2009 9:02 pm

    Hi,
    I am looking for a drapping class in cincinnati but I couldn’t find. did you take your class in cincinnati? or do you know any?
    Thanks
    Bahar

  7. Ellen permalink
    December 14, 2009 8:57 am

    Hey I was thinking about what you said about your dress form being bustier than you. You can make a fitted custom dress form for yourself pretty easily using duct tape, a T-shirt and stuffing. Just thought you might be interested. Let me know if you need more info!
    E

Leave a Reply

