Skip to content

Fabric and Progress

February 12, 2009

Woohoo!  I finally finished my shirt and my shrug last night!  So exciting because now I can move on.  I’m not entirely thrilled with either piece… :(  So sad.  I think I’m just a bit disappointed because I was expecting them to be awesome.  I was crazy about the shirt design, and it might have been better if I had enough fabric to do what I wanted.  But I got really discouraged with the lower portion when I ran out of fabric and had to leave the sides open.  As for the shrug, I was really excited about ordering the fabric ($2/yd!) and then when it came I was not pleased.  I’m really big on how the fabric feels, and this one is just kind of icky (especially the inside).  Plus, I really don’t like that it has little shiny bits.  So, to compensate (and use up as much as I could), I lined the shrug which made it a bit too thick and as a result the sleeves are a bit odd.

Anyway, I will take pictures tonight.  Next project is a wrap dress just like the one I made my sister.  While it’s not exactly exciting (since I’ve already made one) I really love this dress, so I can’t wait to have one for myself :)  That should be a quick project and then I can finally move on to my winter coat!

New Fabric

Last night I ordered some new fabric!  Woohoo! Very exciting :)  I only know exactly what to do with one of them, but I couldn’t pass up these deals.   3 of the 4 are designer fabrics, all were under $10 to start with, and everything was 20% off.  See Fabric Mart if you want the great discounts, but hurry🙂

Smoke colored Silk Charmeuse
Maggy London $6.40/yd (!!)
100% silk

silk-charmeuse_maggylondon

Blue/Ivory Jersey Knit
Anna Sui $4.80/yd
98% rayon, 2% lycra (my fave)
(sorry only the orange is left and I forgot to copy the blue pic)

squarejersey_annasui

“Claret” Wool Knit
Donna Karan $8.00/yd
100% wool I think (not listed)

red-wool-knit_donnakaran

Black Loose Jersey Knit
$4.80/yd
92% cotton, 8% lycra

black-loose-jersey

2 Comments leave one →
  1. juebejue permalink
    February 15, 2009 2:54 am

    hi! i just dropped by your site (linked from burdastyle), and you have just introduced me to fabric mart! I used to shop at fabric.com, and now i have a whole new place to get cheap farbic!😀 thanks!

  2. February 19, 2009 9:05 am

    Hi Liz, just wandered over here after your lovely comments on my blog. Thanks for visiting🙂 Had a little chuckle too, just realised you are the same Liz from Burdastyle ! lol! (btw finally got my html issues sorted, turns out sometimes it takes a few hours for their pages to reload…)

    Anyway, well done on all your progress! Hope you get to use your new fabric soon
    Cheers

Leave a Reply

